Questo sito o gli strumenti terzi da questo utilizzati si avvalgono di cookie necessari al funzionamento ed utili alle finalità illustrate nella cookie policy. Se vuoi saperne di più o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie, consulta la cookie policy. Chiudendo questo banner, scorrendo questa pagina, cliccando su un link o proseguendo la navigazione in altra maniera, acconsenti all'uso dei cookie.




you are here: Home Friuli Venezia Giulia Friuli's Hinterland Spilimbergo

More About

Here you can find info and tips about the area you are visiting.

Most viewed in Spilimbergo

  • Fantinel Friulan Wines

    Fantinel was founded in 1969, thanks to the hard work and enthusiasm of Mario Fantinel, a hotelier and restaurateur in Ravascletto, Carnia. "Paron" Mario bought the initial vineyards in the Dolegna Collio area with the intention of making top quality...

  • Borgo Magredo Friuli Wines

    This is the heart of the Grave Friuli DOC, where the soil is referred to as "magredi" and the weather characteristics are extremely favorable to winemaking. The "magredi" are extensive deposits of pebbles and stones, transported to the Friulan flatlands...

Print this page Send to a friend by e-mail




The town's name derives from the German family "Spengemberch", feudal Lords, that during the Middle Ages exercised their power over a wide area. It is a charming municipality in the province of Pordenone, particular for the striking and characteristic mixture of interiors with elements of fine art and military defensive exteriors, in apparent a contradiction, that fascinates for beauty and singularity. Beautiful buildings, whose façades are often decorated with frescoes, with elegant single and three arches windows and the Serliane (a local architectural feature, invented by Serlio, in the XVI century, characterized by a central room with archway, flanked by two rooms supported by a unique lintel). In the village there is an important school of mosaics, a tradition still in use since ancient Roman times.
The first settlers in the area were the Romans, that camped here for military purposes. In the Middle Ages, the castle was built overlooking the river Tagliamento, in defense of a ford and the first settlement was called "burgo veteri". In the XIII century, the castle was surrounded by a fortified wall. Later, the town developed towards West, with a new residential area, known with the name "burgo de medio" and in 1340, the 'burgo novo" was added. Between the XII and the XVI centuries, Spilimbergo was a frequent target of attacks and looting: it was also often the scene of plots and ambushes, famous the one against the patriarch of Aquileia. Contested by Austria, Gorizia and Venice, in 1420, it became part of the Venetian Serenissima Republic with whom it subsequently shared the same history and fate.

- the Cathedral, built in Gothic style between the XIII and XIV centuries, is an impressive building, richly decorated with frescoes. It presents an asymmetrical facade, on the left side is embellished with a fine Romanesque doorway, dating from 1376, by Zeno of Campione, with a relief in the lunette. The interior features three naves separated by pillars, a painting of 1622 with Saints, attributed to the artist Palma il Giovane, an organ of the XVI century and other valuable works;
- the Castle, dating from the VIII century, was expanded and modified at later dates. It consists of several buildings, dating back to between the XV and the XVIII centuries, arranged in a ring around a large square;
- the Painted Palace, located inside the courtyard of the castle, dating from the late XV century, it is decorated with frescoes attributed to the artist Bellunello. There are geometric shapes and elegant chivalric figures, mullioned windows and a balcony decorated with quilted stone;
- La Loggia of the Toll , a building in Gothic style with a porch;
- La Pergola, a XIV century building in Gothic-Venetian, today seat of the Town Hall;
- Palazzo Spilimbergo-Ciriani.


This town web page has been visited 32,157 times.

Choose language