A municipality in the province of Udine, San Daniele del Friuli is a medieval village nestled in a green valley in the hills near the River Tagliamento. The main center, over the centuries, has been enriched by important examples of each artistic period and style with a strong Venetian influence. The main square is surrounded by fine buildings with porches and halls adorned with Venetian-style three-light windows. The local economy relies on its farming and trading traditions. San Daniele gives its name to a World famous appreciated and high quality ham PDO, produced in this area.
The town's origins are uncertain: probably founded in the Middle Ages. The settlement developed around the castle, built for defensive purposes, near a river ford. Its unique location and the growth of trading produced a subsequent economic development. In the XII century the town was proclaimed free municipality. Over the years it was the subject of contention between Austria, Udine, Gorizia and Venice. The latter managed to incorporate its territories between those of its doman, until in 1445, it was granted to the patriarchs, who controlled until 1751. Chosen as a recruitment center and home to factories of arms of the Social Republic, it was severely damaged during the Second World War and rebuilt almost entirely.
- the Basilica of San Michele Arcangelo, which is characterized by an XVIII century façade designed by Domenico Rossi and particularly rich in columns, cornices and statues. It is surmounted by a pediment highlighted by decorative elements. The structure is preceded by a wide staircase and features three entrances, the central one wider and shaped arc. It preserves inside a collection of pieces of jewelry and a baptistery in the XVI century;
- the Church of Saint Anthony, built in the XV century on the remain of an earlier building, in Gothic style. It keeps inside a cycle of frescoes by Martino di Udine, also known as the Pellegrino (Pilgrim) of San Daniele, in the period between the XV and XVI century. Today it is desecrated and hosts only cultural events;
- the Portonat, an artwork of Palladio, a medieval gate tower, which dates back to 1579, is part of the ancient fortification;
- the Castle, whose few remains are visible on the hilltop. One of its towers was also used, over the centuries as a Bell Tower;
- the Town Hall, whose original structure dates from the XV century, today, houses the Guarneriana Library with its illuminated manuscript;
- the XVIII century Monte di Pietà, in which are on display several archaeological and artistic treasures;
- the Museum of the territory.