Questo sito o gli strumenti terzi da questo utilizzati si avvalgono di cookie necessari al funzionamento ed utili alle finalità illustrate nella cookie policy. Se vuoi saperne di più o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie, consulta la cookie policy. Chiudendo questo banner, scorrendo questa pagina, cliccando su un link o proseguendo la navigazione in altra maniera, acconsenti all'uso dei cookie.




  • Hotel Rufolo Ravello

    Hotel Rufolo Ravello

    Quality 4 Stars Charming Hotel Accommodation Swimming Pool Restaurant Wellness Area Ravello Amalfi Coast Neapolitan Riviera Salerno...

  • Ravello House exclusive apartments

    Ravello House exclusive apartments

    apartments in Ravello, holiday house in Ravello, apartments in Amalfi Coast, holiday house in Amalfi Coast, charming house in...

  • Romantic Boat Amalfi

    Romantic Boat Amalfi

    Rental Boat, Boats with Skippers, Exclusive Excursions to Capri, Positano Boats, Li Galli Island, Positano, Atrani, Amalficoast...

  • Villa Maria Restaurant Ravello

    Villa Maria Restaurant Ravello

    Mediterranean Gastronomy Neapolitan Riviera Amalfiscoast Ravello Salerno Campania Italy

  • Hotel Hermitage Cilento Coast

    Hotel Hermitage Cilento Coast

    Quality 4 Stars Hotel Accommodation Restaurant Swimming Pool San Marco di Castellabate Cilento Coast Salerno Campania Italy

you are here: Home Lombardy Milan Surroundings Cassinetta di Lugagnano


Visit a locality browsing the menu on the left. In each Italy area you can then choose the best touristical structures we are proposing.

Print this page Send to a friend by e-mail


Cassinetta di Lugagnano


It is a town in the province of Milan, located on the Naviglio Grande and its name derives, according to some, from "Lucanianus" (an adjective derived from the Latin name Lucanius), while according to others, from Cassina Birago with reference, therefore, to the founder Maffiolo Birago.
The earliest settlements date back to Roman times and along the right bank of the Naviglio, evidence has been found and exhibits are on show at the Museum of Pisani Dossi Corbetta. Just earlier to year 1000 dates a granite sarcophagus with plates and bowls in glass and pottery, found in the nearby countryside.
The district of Lugagnano is mentioned for the first time in a document dated 1251, which refers to the feudal castle surrounded by a moat, around which the village had been developed. In the XIII century the castle was owned by the Casterno Family, that ceded their rule to the Pietrasanta Family. Later it was sold to the territory of Robecco, to finally be transferred to various Lords such as: Baldassarre Barzi, Giovanni Vasquez de Coronado, Trivulzio Angelo and the successors of Girolamo Barzi.
Besides the beautiful scenery, a symbol of Cassinetta of Lugagnano are, without doubt, the c.d. "Villas of delight" (as defined by Marc'Antonio dal Re), residences of the powerful families of Milan, that overlook the waters of the naviglio and its channels, which added great value to this small village. The villas are named after the prominent families that owned them: Villa Birago-Clari-Monzini, Villa Mantegazza-Macinaghi, Villa Trivulzio, Villa Frotta-Eusebio, Villa Grosso-Pambieri, Villa-Beoco-Negri, Villa Visconti-Castiglioni-Maineri, Villa Castiglioni-Nai-Bossi, Villa Gambotto-Negri, Villa Bodio- Pallavicini-Bottiglia, Casa Spirito, Palazzo Krentzlin.
Among the religious buildings worth of mention:
- the Parish Church of Saint Anthony Abbot, built in 1435, required by Maffiolo Birago;
- the Oratory of St. Joseph, built in the first half of the XVIII century by the architect Karl Friedrich Castiglioni, adjacent to his villa, in Baroque style.


This town web page has been visited 34,204 times.

Choose language