Town in the province of Imperia and part of the Mountain Community Intemelia, Castel Vittorio is the classic picturesque setting for a postcard photo: the first impression approaching the centre is that it seems too perfect to be real. Situated on a hill surrounded by a very thick vegetation, stands a small settlement of houses between which outstands the high steeple of the Parish church. The village's atmosphere has not changed over the centuries and is almost unreal. The houses are painted in traditional pastel colors, separated by small alleys, with steep and narrow staircases. The town has an appearance of great simplicity and composure, but every corner is different and every view gives a different emotion, monotony does not live here.
Until 1260 it was a possession of the Counts of Ventimiglia, and was known as Castle Dho, until Bonifacio il Minore was determined to sell the territory to the Republic of Genoa. The village then assumed a new name: Castelfranco. With the unification of Italy, the Region of Piedmont decided to tribute the town to the King Vittorio Emanuele II of Savoy, renaming it into Castel Vittorio. In the next years the local inhabitants engaged in reprisals against the nearby town of Pigna. The conflict arose because of different political currents that characterized the two municipalities: Castel Vittorio was linked to the Republic of Genoa, whilst Pigna to Piedmont. Local legends, narrate of incidents at the edge of the hoax, like bells stolen and torn up floors.
Not to miss:
The Parish Church of Santo Stefano that features a simple and yet elegant façade, divided into two levels with overlapping rows of columns and a central niche, in bas relief, located on the higher level, topped by a triangular pediment. On the side portal there is a bas-relief completed between the XVI and the XVII centuries. The interior preserves an art masterpiece "the Crucifixion of Jesus", attributed to Marcello Venusti of the second half of the XVII century and a crucifix by Anton Maria Maragliano.
The Oratory of Santa Caterina, built in the Middle Ages, features a portal of 1400.
The Church of Santa Maria di Lago Pigo in Baroque style with a charming portal on the façade of 1512.