It is a municipality of Franciacorta, located on the morainic amphitheatre del Sebino at the foot of Mount Orfano. The name Erbusco probably derives from the fertile area in which it is situated, rich of grass fields and woods. Although the earliest settlements in the area date back to the Neolithic, there are also important finds from the Roman period, such as headstones, memorial stones and ornaments, of which some are preserved in the Roman section of the Museum of Santa Giulia in Brescia, whilst others are walled in the façade of the palace Monte del Pietà.
The charming village is dominated by the Castle, built between the XIII and XIV centuries. The ancient Parish of Erbusco is one of the finest examples of Lombard architecture of the XII century and inside are preserved the remains of an engraved decoration element of the IX century, some frescos attributed to Gentile da Fabriano and a fresco in the apse of St. Orsola .
At a few steps from the church is the Parish of Santa Maria Assunta, designed by Giovan Antonio Girelli in 1689.
Other religious buildings are: the Monastery of San Bernardino (second half of XV century), the Church of St. Gotthard, the Church of St. Nicholas and the Church of St. George.
The town also features numerous palaces and noble villas, such as: Palazzo Martinengo, today owned by the Counts Lechi, built between the XVI and XVII century; Palazzo Chizzola, Palazzo Marchetti of Montestrutto, Palazzo Cavalleri, today seat of the Town Hall and Villa Maggi