Municipality of the Alta Pusteria region, in the province of Bolzano, San Candido (Innichen in German) is located at the entrance of Valle di Sesto, in the Natural Park of the Dolomiti massif of Sesto. The area was inhabited by Illyrian tribes since 1000 B.C., subsequently Celtic tribes settled here, who, in 15 B.C. surrendered to the military power of Rome. During the Ages of the Empire, the Romans built a military post called "Littamum", while the current center developed around the monastery founded by Duke Tassilo III of Bavaria and built by the Bishop of Freising, to oppose the advancing of Slav populations, who at the time were still pagans. Since then, San Candido belonged to the Principality of Freising, until the abolition of feudal rights in 1803.
At present San Candido is a charming town, surrounded by the beautiful landscape of the Dolomites, incomparable snow-covered slopes, alpine lakes, picturesque mountain paths and the innate hospitality of the local Tyrolean inhabitants make it a magnet for visitors all year round.
Sites of Interest:
- the Collegiate of San Candido is a splendid example of Romanesque architecture in the South Tyrol. It was erected in 1043 on the site of a Benedictine monastery founded by Tassilo III of Bavaria. Flanked by a massive square bell tower, the interior is divided into three naves. Inside is preserved a precious wooden crucifix on the altar and frescoes of the artist Michael Pacher;
- the XVII century Church of the Convent of the Franciscans;
- the XII century Church of St. Michael, partially rebuilt in the XVIII century;
- the Chapel of Altötting and of the Holy Sepulchre, a typical example of the popular religiosity in Baroque style, reproduces in small size, the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem and the Chapel of Grace in Altötting;
- the Wildbad baths, springs from which flow hot sulphurous water, which have been used since ancient times for their therapeutic properties, in the XIX century were enclosed into the structure of the Grand Hotel Wildbad.