The town's name probably derives from the presence of a bridge on the river Lenta, built by the Lombard Prince Landolfo. Municipality in the province of Benevento, located on a ridge between Mount Calvello and Sauco, Pontelandolfo is nestled between the valleys of Alente and Lenticelle, from where it is possible to admire a charming and picturesque panorama.
The main centre was probably founded in the XI century, while it is named for the first time in a document dating from the first half of the XII century. It was included into the County of Ariano and was conquered and destroyed by the Norman King Ruggiero, as a sign of revenge on the Count of Ariano. Ceded to Count Goffredo di Lesina, it then was granted to Guglielmo of Sanframondo and then to Ugo Bursello. It submitted the domain of the Swabians and the Angevin and, during the Spanish domination, it was a stronghold of the De Capua and the Carafa.
Until the early XIX century, the town was under the jurisdiction the province of Principato Ultra, then became part of the Molise region and in 1861, it was assigned to the district of Benevento. In 1861 the town was destroyed and several inhabitants were killed by the Italian army for hiding some bandits, who were responsible for the deaths of some soldiers.
- the XVII century Chapel of San Rocco with its single nave plan, features an entrance preceded by a portico surmounted by a pediment, outlined by frames and elegant lancet windows. On the top there is a gable shaped roof;
- the Chapel of Santa Maria degli Angeli, built in the XIX century, is situated in the main center;
- the XIX century Palazzo Rinaldi;
- the Church of San Michele Arcangelo, which is a small building built of stone, which features one nave and a gable shaped roof;
- the XVII century Parish Church of SS. Saviour;
- the XV century ancient temple of the Annunciation;
- the XII century medieval tower, 25 meters high, was used as a watchtower;
- the XVII century Shrine of St. Donatus;
- the XIX century Fountain in Piazza Rome.