The name is composed of the words bridge and Boseta that could come from the Piedmont dialect "Boza" (pond). A municipality located at 780 meters above sea level, on the Eastern flank of the valley Champorcher, on the border with Piedmont, near the Ayasse river, which flows through a rugged gorge full of charming views. Pont Boseta is surrounded by woods full of chestnuts trees and berry bushes and is composed of various small villages characterized by the presence of typical Aosta Valley homes constructed of wood and stone. Near the village there are still visible traces of the old foundries built in the XVII century, which belonged to the Count Nicole of Bard.
In the XI century Pont Boset, like the whole Valley of Champorcher, belonged to the lords of Bard. Subsequently it was subjected in part to the direct jurisdiction of the Savoy and in part to the Lords of Pont Saint Martin. In 1682 the fief passed to the noble Family Freydoz. During the Middle Ages it was a possession of the Barons of Champorcher.
No to miss:
The Parish Church, entitled to St. Grato, seems to have been built in 1625. Situated in a dominant location, where once stood a smaller chapel. It features a one nave building with a barrel vault celing and a dome roof.
The Chapel of Gom or Gond, located at the entrance of the town and was built in 1727. It is dedicated to the marriage of the Virgin Mary. It features a façade decorated with frescoes and inside it preserves an altar covered with ornaments and it hosts in the side niches the statues of St. Joachim and St. Anne, at the center the statue of the Madonna.
The Sanctuary of Retempio.
The characteristic stone bridges built in the XVII century and located downstream of the town.